A lesson taught and a lesson learnt

Bismillah

It was the 4th of July weekend here so I had a lot of time on my hands. Just before the weekend I had a talk with a Christian reagrding the ten commandments. He was misquoting all the commandments. I corrected him on the first one. He said” Thou shalt love your God with all your strength”. I said to him that is not the first commandment. Then I said what is the second one. He said “Thou shalt not steal”. I had had just enough of this so I said you are misquoting the ten commandments.  I quoted the first commandment and the second commandment to him and he strayed away from the whole discussion by saying that no one can live up to the ten commandments becasue we in the flesh will always commit sins and need a lamb for expiation of our sins. I thought hmm does this have anything to do with what we are discussing?

My encounter left me preplexed and bewildred and I satrted digging deeper into what the commandments are. So I used Shaykh Google and found out http://www.hebrew4christians.com/Scripture/Torah/Ten_Cmds/ten_cmds.html.

For argument purposes I am taking the Jewish version becasue I feel that is the more accurate one and more in line with Islam. Lets analyze the first commandment he misquoted. Thou shalt love your God with all your strenght. This is what the Muriji’ah sect did. God is love and He is all about Love. No doubt Allah is Al-Wadood. They went to an extreme and said that since God loves us we are free to do what we want. That is why Allah said “not the path of those who earned your Wrath or who went Astray”.(Surah Al faitha).  Our scholars have said that the ones who went astray were the Christians. May Allah Protect us from such corruption and Guide us to that which is the truth!

The second commandment states that you shall not have any other gods beside me. This is pretty obvious. This destroys the whole concept of the trinity. Now my Christian friend was very surprised to know this.

Lesson taught: Learn the commandments,implement them, DON’T MISQUOTE RELIGIOUS SCRIPTURES even if that  goes against your doctrine and DONT MAKE TAHREEF!

Lesson learnt: Learn the Quran by heart and the ten commandments so you can invite people to the way of Islam.

Allah says in the Quran ” Say, “O People of the Scripture, come to a word that is equitable between us and you – that we will not worship except Allah and not associate anything with Him and not take one another as lords instead of Allah .” But if they turn away, then say, “Bear witness that we are Muslims [submitting to Him].” (Surah Al-Imran V64).

It is very important to know this becasue Christians will not like to talk about this. They know they will lose most of the arguments when they start talking about the commandments. Instead they resort to using the Bible and different variants of the commandments to prove thier doctrine.

Wallah u alam.

Subhana kallahumma wa bihamdika ash-haduana la illaha illa ant wa astaghfiruka wa atubu ilayk

Ameen.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

