String Theory

Assalam o alaykum all, Alhamdulillah I had a good day today.

I had an important submission due today but (YAWN) that can wait. I have bigger things in life to worry about walhamdulillah i rabbil alameen.

 IN the evening I had dinner with a good friend of mine and had a halaqa with my shaykh. After isha I sat down on and searched for String theory on youtube. To my amazement I saw three documentaries and a short graphical explanation of the theory. Here are the links

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z694S3cGCg0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2_vpEyE6rug&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tLd0lwQrxOw&feature=related

Disclaimer: This will take alot of time to understand and you will probably be dizzy and disoriented after viewing this.

SubhanAllah! I after watching this and reading up on this I just sat in my place looking up to the wall, then I walked out and looked at the sky and thought SubhanAllah. What has Allah Created! So perfect. The string theory aims to explain everything. From the minutest particle to the universe we see. Stepehen Hawkings was once asked what came before the Big Bang? His answer was “thats like asking what is north of norht pole?”. So what came before the big bang? Well the documentary suggests that M-theory says there are many membranes on which universes float. They are of different shapes and sizes. Since they are floating they sometimes collide with each other and different instances of time. When they collide the effect you see is what we see in the form of a big bang and matter is a resultant of that singularity that has exploded. Now lets go to the minute. Inside of an atom are electrons, protons and neutrons. Inside of them are energy particles called qurakswhose direction signify thier energy. What makes these quarks? It is vibrating string. They are round and come in vareity of shapes. These strings if you were to view them would be like you looking at the universe and trying to look for a tree on earth. So there was this physicist who said you can never know the exact location of a particle and thus came up with the uncertainity prinicple which is a building block of classical physics. Now scientists say that the reason for this is that these particles are infact stepping between different dimesnions and thus we cannot know where they are at a given point in time.

This is just in a nutshell of what I understood. I am very fascinated with this theory. I kinda of have a theory that I came up with long time back. I pondered and said could our universe be the ultimate sum of all these multiverses? Could it?

At the end of the day after learning all this the human being needs to humble himself before the Creator and just realize that we have a purpose in life. Like the documentary said we maybe just an small universe floating in a infinite number of universes or membranes for that matter. It provoked me into thinking ok now what even if we are so what? If I die will this mystery be solved by me going into the next world? The answer is no. I have a different purpose for which I am Created. My purpose is

“And I (Allah) created not the jinns and humans except they should worship Me (Alone).”

Also another thing that I realized is I cannot understand Allah(SWT) if I cannot understand His Creation. SubhanAllah! He is Al-Khaliq. Can I understand his Makhlooq? No. I can just look at it, observe it and say subhanAllah wal Hamdulillah! I just submit. I cannot run away from this fact. I remember I was in a class and the Shaykh said that Ibn Taymiyyah was of the opinion that Allah has been creating. So many different creations that we are not aware of.  That is why Allah says in the Quran about Himself

قُل لَّوْ كَانَ الْبَحْرُ مِدَاداً لِّكَلِمَاتِ رَبِّي لَنَفِدَ الْبَحْرُ قَبْلَ أَن تَنفَدَ كَلِمَاتُ رَبِّي وَلَوْ جِئْنَا بِمِثْلِهِ مَدَداً

Say (O Muhammad SAW to mankind). “If the sea were ink for (writing) the Words of my Lord, surely, the sea would be exhausted before the Words of my Lord would be finished, even if we brought (another sea) like it for its aid.”

SubhanAllah!

1 comment so far

  1. muslim on

    Salam man! I think you need to look at this from another perspective. Its just a theory. It could collapse. They still aren’t sure.


Leave a Reply

