Going inside the Ka’abah

Assalam o alaykum, I recently saw a video on muslimmatters about going inside the ka’abah. Alhamdulillah wa mashAllah, the video is great.

The video kind of inspired me to share my story with you.

Before I start I want to inform you that, going inside the Ka’abah is the same as standing in the hateem( the arch shaped structure). If you pray in the hateem it is as if you have prayed inside the ka’abah. The Prophet(SAW) wanted to extend the ka’abha but knowing the fact that the jahili Arabs were new converts to Islam and it would create fitnah, he did not do it. Why others did not do it after him is baffling to me but nevertheless there must be hikmah in it and there are bigger issues to worry about. Wallah u alam. On a slightly different tangent, the Masjid An Nabawi(SAW)’s dome is also not acceptable under Islamic Sharia but imagine the problems that would come if someone were to remove it. So until the people are more knowledgable, it is best to leave it as it is. More on this here.

Coming to back to my story, I lived in Saudi Arabia all my life – in Makkah tul Mukarramah walhamdulillah. I saw the great Shuyookh of the Ka3bah. I grew up in the House of Allah. It is a blessing of Allah that He bestowed on me, walhamdulillah. In 1993, my mother was the first in our family to go into the Sacred House. She went with a delegation of Pakistani diplomats. She said that she saw pots from the time of Ibraheem(AS). She cannot confirm if the information that was given to her was correct or not regarding the pots. My mother really loved it and we would ask her how was it like etc. My eyes would shine and I would have this desire to go in there and feel closer to Allah. This is after all the House of the Creator. The House whose foundations were laid down by our father Ibrahim(AS) and Ismail(AS) and Allah accepted it from them and magnified this deed in the Quran in Surah al Baqarah.

“And (remember) when Ibrahim (Abraham) and (his son) Isma’il (Ishmael) were raising the foundations of the House (the Ka’bah at Makkah), (saying), “Our Lord! Accept (this service) from us. Verily! You are the All-Hearer, the All-Knower.” 2:127

After all, this is the first Masjid on the face of this earth. Directly above it is Baytul Ma3mur.This is the place where the well of ZamZam is. This is the place where we see the foot prints of our father Ibrahim(AS) and he was a Muslim. This is the place where the Prophet(SAW) entered and destroyed the idols. This is the place where there is much history.  A few meters away I saw the House where the Prophet(SAW) was born. This is the House of Allah. Where everyone comes as a beggar to Him. There is no difference between rich and poor, no difference between anyone of us. This is the place where the great scholars of Islam taught and still today teach.

I was very saddened and one day made dua to Allah that he may give me the privilege to be in His House.

Years passed by and in August of ’96 I saw the ka3bah being englufed with white boards all around it such that the Ka3bah was just like a white box. The government decided it was time to renovate the Ka3bah to strengthen the structure. I heard they do it every 100 years. This information is however not authentic as I could not verify it. So I saw my mother, my siblings and my father go into the Holy House but I could not go.

One night I slept deeply troubled by this and saw a dream. In my dream I saw the marble under the door of the Ka3bah. I woke up and narrated my dream to my mother. Nothing special. Life went on and the last day came when they were removing the white boards. I was dismayed, because this could be my last chance. On that day my father called me and said, “Get ready, I will send you with so and so and he will take you inshAllah”.I did as I was told.

When I reached the Haram we prayed Isha and met the person who was supposed to take us. In Saudia, you need to have wasta(I don’t know how to translate this) to get any high level work done. So this person, took me by my hand and took me to the entrance. As we reached the entrance there were policeman standing and they told us that we cannot enter because they have orders from their superiors and cannot let anyone through. We went and sat in a corner a few meters away from the Ka3bah.

Then a person came rambling with a loud voice and started yelling at those who were trying to get in. My “guide” told me that this person is Sha3bi. He is the guardian of the keys to the Grand House. The keys were given to his ancestor, Uthman bin Kalid from the tribe of Shaybah, by the Prophet(SAW). As I remember (correct me if I am wrong), Uthman was once asked by the Prophet(SAW) to give him the keys to the Ka3bah so he may go in and pray. Uthman refused. Because he was in a higher position and Islam was new. The Prophet(SAW) said, ” One day I will hold the key to the Ka3bah and I will give it to whom I want.” After the conquest of Makkah, the Prophet(SAW) called upon Uthman and the noble and righteous Prophet that he was, said to him, “Keep this key, it will remain in your family till the Day of Judgment”. Until today, generation after generation, it has remained in the same family. The King makes a formal request to them to open the House of Allah on all occassions.

So this person pushed people away and caused a great deal of commotion because of his frustration of everyone wanting to enter the Holy House.

I prayed to Allah and supplicated to Him. All of a sudden the Saudi who was my “guide”, told me to come with him after receiving a phone call. He said, “let’s go” in Arabic. I went along and the policemen let us through. As I entered I had a smile on my face and I was constantly saying Alhamdulillah. I entered the House of Allah. I entered to pray two rak3ah. I started looking up out of curiosity and surprise. While I was doing that, a mutawwa (religious police) came and pushed me out. I immediately started my prayer.🙂. He didn’t say anything and left. I prayed 4 rak3ah, I believe. Made dua and thanked Allah.

I was very happy walhamdulillah. As I exited I thanked Allah for allowing someone like me to enter His House. Walhamdulillah i rabbil alameen

3 comments so far

  1. […] Fifth one was my experience going inside the Ka3bah. […]

  2. bucungdotcom on

    What did you see inside the ka3bah? People told there is something extraordinary especially if you look at the ceiling.

  3. musafirfidunya on

    No nothing special. Just a ceiling and an opening to go to the roof. Perhaps you should ask them to elaborate. Wallah u alam


Leave a Reply

