Are we really ready to die?

السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته أخي في الإسلام
إن الحمدلله نحمده ونستعينه ونستغفره ونعوذ بالله من شرور أنفسنا و من سيأتينا من يهدي الله فهو المهتد و من يضليله فلا هادي له
و  أما بعد

إنا لله و إنا إليه راجعون

Last night my sister’s friend passed away after suffering from pancreatic cancer. We are of dust and to it we shall return. 

I went to attend the funeral. Here is a picture of the grave. After looking at the grave, I started to feel nauseated and started to feel helpless and had a flow of tears. I could imagine myself being buried like this. Being lowered into a place where I will be alone with no clothes, nothing. All that I worked for is not going with me. It stays behind to be taken by someone else. My family, relatives and friends all praying for me and leaving me alone to face my inquisition that awaits me when the grave is closed. The angels munkar and nakeer coming to me and asking me questions! And I paused and looked at the grave and again imagined how would I be like! How can a person have an bit of arrogance in his heart knowing his final destination is mud. All kinds of natural processes start devouring the body. Then I imagined, my kin will remember me for 3 days or maximum a few months but they will eventually move on with their lives. I felt so helpless. Who will know me? No one. I will be alone in a dark place. The grave squeezing me.

And then I thought to myself how true are the words of the Prophet(SallAllah u alayhi wasallam): Remember much of that which is the destroyer of pleasures(death). If we really understand this hadith our goals in this life will be different. What good is anything? This life is just a way to achieve a good life in the Hereafter. Are we truly ready?

Wallahi my dear brothers and sisters, I remind myself and you to be vigialnt about our actions. With every passing moment and every pasing day we are moving closer to our destination. Our destination is te grave. Every person good or bad has gone to it. This is the first step before everything else. Whoever is successful in this step will be successful in subsequent steps inshAllah. Take your time and re-evaluate yourself and figure out how you can become a better muslims. Time is ticking away. Here is a short reminder I found, that changed my life. May Allah(SWT) guide us and give us a good end!

والسلام أ عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته
أخوك في الإسلام

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

